Gastronomically Terrific

February 6, 2014

Parsleyed fish gratin

Filed under: fish, main — Tags: , , — lawsonanna @ 9:10 pm

So, here was my next excuse to make tasty food. Dan was going away for the night, so I invited a couple of friends over for dinner. I decided to go with Nigella’s ‘Grown Up Nursery Supper for 6′, because I’ve been looking at the photo of that Prosecco jelly in this cookbook for years now, and every time I see it I really, really want to make (and eat) it. And the main course looked pretty good too.

The main course is a fish gratin – basically a white parsley sauce mixed in with fish, and covered with potato. It’s relatively easy to make – especially if (unlike you me) you either know how to skin and bone fish, or buy ready skinned and boned smoked fish.

The one thing I will say about a gratin is that you’re not meant to cook the potato. You slice it very thinly, put it on top of the dish and cook it in the oven for an hour or so. We’ve made this mistake before, and ended up with uncooked potato. So, this time around, I sliced the potato but then parboiled them, just for 5-10 minutes, before putting the dish in the oven.

I’m pleased to say it all worked really well. My only slight complaint is that it didn’t seem like that much food. This was meant to be a meal for 6, so I halved the amounts as there were 3 of us. I could have done with just taking a third off. A bit of a shame, because the amounts in Nigella’s recipes are usually pretty good estimates.

Who made it: Anna

Recipe: Nigella Christmas, pg. 79

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Banana Smoothie Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

